Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

First walk of the year for the Haltwhistle Walkers

There were 37 of us! It was a lovely morning, although rather cold on the tops. We walked from Acomb Village, up and across the fells to Hadrian's Wall Trail. I was determined to capture a group shot. It was really too sunny to do it well. You will see all the shadows on faces. However, I am not going to complain about the sun.

We had lunch at Heavenfield in the grounds of St Oswald's church. Here I met a man who had come to place a wreath in the form of a cross in memory of his parents. Both had their ashes scattered here. I pointed out all the quarries we could see in the north; these were his father's places of employment. He had worked in a local garage owned by someone I know. Sometimes it is good to talk.

We ended up with nearly all of us in the Sun Inn - with only one barmaid to pull the pints.

A very happy day and I was delighted to manage 10 miles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.