An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Friday the 13th...

I can't believe I am typing this but Alan's back in hospital.

We got back from our friend's birthday Afternoon Tea yesterday to Ashleigh telling us he'd been fine (he had been, she sent us a great selfie of her and him) but he'd started grinding his teeth ( a sure sign of pain/discomfort.)

Made him dinner but after the first mouthful he was sick.  Over the rest of the evening his temperature and heart rate went up and his oxygen level dropped.  

Saw out of hours Doc last night and after an unsettled night our GP checked him out this morning and arranged for him to be admitted to hospital as he was worried about post-op complications.   He went by ambulance, which was just as well as on the way there his heart rate increased to 170 so they blue lighted him.

Latest news is he's had morphine and is more settled. Been seen and everything seems fine with the ileostomy. They think chest infection or urine infection.  I think chest.  I'm wondering if his chest had ever actually cleared up from his time in hospital before Christmas.  I am worried that he has pneumonia.  

They're also going to do an ABG (arterial blood gas test) which will hopefully give them more info on how to best to manage his oxygen level.

Just had portable X-ray of chest and part abdomen.   Think he'll need to go to xray for lower abdomen.  He's on a salbutamol nebuliser just now and high rate IV fluids. Nil by mouth/PEG.

He’s not having a fun time :-(


As I was heading out and put on my scarf and mitts, I realised that both of these winter warmers were given to me as gifts from Blippers from the Southern Hemisphere.


The mitts were knitted by my Blip pal Karen when she and her husband Dave visited us in August 2015 and the scarf was a pressie from Blip pal Gitama when she visited last summer.  


Ladies thank you so much again for your beautiful gifts, I love wearing them as not only are they fab and do the job they were designed to do, they remind me of you and how wonderful friendships blossom across the miles xx






Sorry for going into such detail about Alan but I am using my journal as a hospital diary as we got in such a muddle the last time about what tests were done when etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.