A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Mizzle in Brizzle

The forecast was for today's weather to be better but I think it was worse. Mizzle and grey all the way.

Non the less I decided to walk down Gloucester Road. I needed some groceries and just wanted a second look at places we visited on Saturday. Bought some green grocery on one of the many stalls and then went into two of our favourite shops. Glasses required here but I took them off between the two because of the wet. As soon as I got them out in Fig a lens fell out. The lady kindly rescued it from under a shelf and pointed me down the road to an opticians. Soon fixed I decided as I had come this far I should check out the road leading to Montpelier Station which I will need on Thursday when I go home. At this point 'Map my Walk' said I had done 2 miles.

This area is near to my daughter's last flat so I went into the familiar Co op for the rest of the shopping. Here I discovered I'd dropped my (home made) phone case so retraced my steps a little and found it. When I finally sat down for this coffee in Baker's I had done 3 miles.

I thought I deserved some lunch too so ordered smashed avocado with lime, coriander and chilli on toasted sour bread with a poached egg on top! Sourdough bread seems very popular here, it was on my list to buy from a baker's further up the road. We bought one on Saturday and it had eaten it all.

Laden with shopping I had thought I would get the bus but revived by my lunch I walked back up the hill, I would guess at least another 1.5 miles as by now my phone battery had expired!

Think I deserved my sit down this afternoon, with cats of course.

PS yesterday's Banksy is definitely original, painted over 3 days in 1999. It has been damaged a couple of times, the last time was with red paint but it was luckily water based so washed off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.