A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Tea with Mr Darcy

Had a lovely day out today to Bath and the sun shone - heck!

Walked 1.5 miles to Filton Abbeywood station to get a direct train (knew this as s-i-l John goes this way to work if he doesn't cycle, though he does sometimes skate board to the station!)

The sun came out pretty much as I arrived in Bath and after a look around some of the shops and the cathedral I headed up to The Circus - extra - and the Royal Cresent. Walked back down through the park and came across the Jane Austin centre and Regency Tea rooms. I have seen them before but not been in. Decided to go in for tea and a bite to eat, as you can see I was in the presence of Mr Darcy.

Decided not to pay the fee for the exhibition as I really wanted to go to the Assembley Rooms and the Fashion Museum there. I have been before several summers ago when they had a summer Frock exhibition. Today it was Fashion in 100 items from 1600 to the present day. I think you'll agree that Elizabeth Bennett would have happily worn the gowns in my second extra. I was surprised to not qualify for the senior rate, perhaps a bonus? Still I thought it was good value.

Got the return train as the sky started to turn pink. Another 1.5 miles this time up hill with two bags of shopping but I've had a great day. Bath is beautiful and very different from it's neighbour Bristol but I couldn't afford to be near those shops very often and I like Bristol's quirkiness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.