"We will not be ...........

...... Trumped".

Arriving at the Civic this morning, an extraordinary sight. In the east a yellow ball was rising in the east - the Sun. Last seen in these parts briefly last Saturday, since when it has been all greyness.

Lunchtime I headed out from the Civic, all blue sky with not a cloud to be seen. So on my way to Trafford Town Hall I took a short detour to take some pics of the Quays. There was a mini demonstration going on on the footbridge, involving a few people. But this being Media City it seemed to be attracting some journalists and film cameras. The message on the banner draped over the side of the bridge read "We will not be Trumped". How not exactly ?

I listed to the `Donald's inauguration speech on the radio on my way home from work. I then watched some of the ceremonial stuff when I got home, including the Obama's departure from Washington. The personification of dignity.

I have avoided reading about Donald J Trump these last few weeks, it seems like a bad dream. But I am now catching up. It's a reality, so we had better find out who and what we are dealing with. 

Perhaps in the early 21st century it is inevitable that a reality TV star would become president of the United States of America. I had not realised that his mother was an immigrant to the USA, from the Isle of Lewis. Or that his wife Melania is a Slovene immigrant. Others will already know this stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.