Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

I've been watching this bird for the past week, unable to figure out what it was.  I had never seen the type of behavior I was witnessing.  It flaps it's wings frantically as it approaches it's landing spot.  It actually reminded me of a hummingbird, practically hovering in the air.  But unlike the grace of a hummer, this bird made me think it was on amphetamines.

Honestly, I had no clue.  I scoured several books and three different bird apps.  I eventually took a phone picture of it from my laptop and went over to Alma's house to ask for her help. it took a while, but she nailed it.

It's about the size of a  Verdin (9-11 cm), is olive-greyish with a yellow/buff chest.  But check out it's name: Ruby-crowned  Kinglet.  So, where's the 'ruby'?  Turns out that the red on the crown of this male kinglet is almost always hidden. It is viewable mostly in the spring and summer during the mating season.  It seems that excitement is what brings the ruby-crown to prominence.

I did get a glimpse of the ruby crown, though.  Check out the extra!  Seeing this made it both easier and challenging to identify it.  It was a first for both of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.