Impressions

I lay awake in bed last night watching twitter and to some extent Facebook, in growing horror at both the implications of Trump's selective travel ban and May's failure to adopt any sort of principled stance on the issues that this raises. The result was that when I got up this morning I put fingers to keys in a political way for the first time since the first few days after the Brexit referendum. Since that time, I've been pretty preoccupied with my own cares and tribulations, and in particular since the operation I've felt the need to ration my engagement with political horrors, for fear that it could impact negatively upon the rehabilitation. It seems I can now put these fears behind me. I made my efforts public on Facebook and tweeted it out, so I might as well link to it here. I'm amused by the troll that found it.

After setting that particular fire raging, we headed out to Pressmennan Woods for a wee wander along the lake and through woods. All good, and got my "steps" and "floors" for the day stacked in. I'm thinking that I'm back to where I was a couple of years ago in terms of walking. That's sort of true and sort of not true. I have done a few quite demanding walks in the last few years, which are probably beyond my scope just right now, but on each occasion, I've experienced specific and debilitating pain inside the knees, as opposed to just general weariness or muscle fatigue. It's the absence of this, and the fact that I can now rest from walking **standing up** which marks out the difference between now and my pre-operative life.

It's been a lovely day, unlike yesterday, and so the choice of monochrome for the blip shouldn't be interpreted as suggesting that our walk was dull, wet or cold. It was none of the above.

Pressmennan Woods - almost the full circuit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.