An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Pinch, Punch...

First of February already.  And I noticed a slight change in the light levels.  It's getting lighter.  Woo hoo :-))

The painters were giving the bifold doors in the kitchen their millionth coat of paint this afternoon and although modern paint is much less smelly than it used to be, I have felt slightly spaced out most of the day.   Of course that could just be me and have to connection whatsoever to the paint!

When I got up this morning I was absolutely determined that if nothing else got done today, I would write my Reply to the Toast to the Lassies for Saturday's Burns' Supper, and I have.  I am so pleased.  And relieved.  Today's blip is a cross section of some of the books I trawled through this morning for material, but in the end I relied mainly on plundering the internet.   No point in re-inventing the wheel, and after all, it's widely recognised that stealing from one author is plagiarism, stealing from many is research so I am calling my speech research.  ;-)) 
   
I gave it its first reading to David a short while ago and he laughed in all the right places and was grinning at the end, so hopefully it will do.  

He did tell me a joke afterwards that made laugh till I cried and I have managed to squeeze it in to my reply and changed the names of the joke's subjects to two people who will be at the Burns Supper and that has made it even funnier.  Here's hoping they think so too and are still speaking to me at the end of the evening!

In other news, we ordered four different chairs (two each from two companies) to try and find one to go with our new dining room table.  One of them is possibly a contender but the other three are too short in the back.  It was only once they were assembled David noticed on the advice note that they are non-returnable if they've been assembled and used.  But how are you meant to know if they fit for purpose without assembling them and sitting on them?  Sheesh! 

In other, even crazier news, I asked David to pop into the baby shop near his work today to get me a "little minding" to take to Rebecca's baby shower on Sunday (I said in a previous blip that I refuse to buy a proper gift for a baby before it's actually here)  I suggested a small rattle/cuddly toy and a little outfit.  

Well, being the lovely husband that he is, he obliged, and presented me this evening with a beautifully wrapped little (and I mean tiny) package.   I carefully opened it to find inside a little sensory ring thing that has dangly bits and fabric of different colours that a baby could hold and amuse itself with and, if it so desired (and they generally do) it could stuff it in its mouth, the only problem being part of the ring is covered in fur.  Yes fur.  Synthetic I am sure but long haired fur!   Who in their right mind would design a chew toy with long haired fur?!!!!   Crazy!

And the accompanying item of clothing wasn't much better.  A teeny, tiny little blue and black stripped top (she's having a boy).  Looks like it's missing something, like matching trousers!   I had visualised a cute little matinee jacket.  This is nothing like that.  Then I asked him how much it had cost.  Brace yourself.....£40!  Yip, you read that right!  £40 bliddy quid!!!  
Bloody hell!  It was supposed to be a wee minding!  I wasn't even planning on spending that on the main pressie when the baby arrives!  I was actually speechless when he told me!

Okay, so the clothing item is French.  I can't remember the name of the brand, it's probably some well known designer style brand that I've never heard of, but it looks like nothing.  If asked I would say it looks like it cost a fiver max!  There is no way I can take either item to the baby shower!  Back to square one!

Poor David, he can't do right for doing wrong!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.