Photographing Snowflakes

Dear Diary,

Yesterday turned out to be a bit more snow than predicted; close to 10 inches of incredibly fluffy snow fell. I spent the day trying to capture an image of the large and distinct flakes.  In this photograph you can actually see individual flakes...very unusual.  It reminded me of a lesson I did every year with my elementary students on radial symmetry.  We read about Wilson Bentley of Vermont, "Snowflake Bentley" as he was known, who spent his life photographing thousands of distinct snowflakes.

My furred and feathered friends seemed to be enjoying our snow day as well and I caught three Blueboys frolicking in the snow. (Extra photograph)  I suppose they were looking for seeds but they sure looked like they were having a lot of fun doing it.  I don't think joy is an exclusive human trait.

Matt and Chris came and dug me out again and today will be relatively quiet until later when storm number four rolls in.  This one they are predicting to drop 24 inches.  I do hope they are wrong.  We are running out of places to put the stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.