An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

All is well...

After my baking disaster yesterday I wasn't really in the mood to bake today but didn't want to let the lads down.

I remembered that my wee gran always said that when baking, you had to leave any stress and anxiety at the kitchen door, otherwise it would end up in whatever you baked so I paused at the kitchen door, rolled up my sleeves and took a deep breath, stepped into a sunlit kitchen where I could hear the birds whistling (first time I've been really conscious of birdsong this year :-) and got on with it.

Had forgotten to ask David to take the butter out of the fridge before he left for work so ditched the Empire biscuits and carried on with the planned Victoria sponge, followed by orange fairy cakes.  Thankfully they all turned out fine.   Raspberry jam and butter icing to complete the Victoria sponge tomorrow and a lovely orange frosting for the fairy cakes.   The scones take 20 minutes to make so will make them early afternoon tomorrow so they can eat them warm straight from the Aga.

In other news, the lift company's electrician was here today to put in the electrics for the lift, which is being installed tomorrow.  It should be in and working by Wednesday lunchtime.   At last I'll be able to get upstairs and see for myself how chaotic it is!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.