A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Rendezvous.

At the end of our early walk the sun broke though and it has been a glorious day. The only trouble is I spent a good deal of it on a train going backwards!

Never mind I had a good read en route and arriving in Bristol a little earlier than usual in daylight it was great to see the blue skies.

I got the bus through the city centre up Park Street to Browns where Grace and I usually rendezvous on these occasions. I sat outside whilst waiting for her to arrive and enjoyed a cocktail in the last of the sun as I believe it is going to rain tomorrow. I'm here to enjoy a few days with her whilst John goes to Derbyshire for a biking weekend.

When she arrived we went inside for afternoon tea which as usual was over facing.

Here you can see the outside of Browns which has a plaque telling the building's history. It was formerly a library and museum but the interior of the building was completely destroyed in the blitz of WW2. The facade was untouched and remains as can be seen today becoming Brown's in 1992.
Next door down the hill is the current Bristol Museum and the magnificent tower against the blue sky is the Wills Memorial building of Bristol University.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.