Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

North East Recorder Orchestra

Today the North East Recorder Orchestra visited Humshaugh and played an afternoon concert in our village hall. At the same time, we had the pop-up exhibition Our Music Seen of Northumberland musicians. I have a panel of photos in the exhibition, including two of our own villagers, so I had to be there.

Recorder music is not my favourite (although it comes much higher up my list of what is acceptable than punk or heavy metal........). They played a varied programme: Byrd: Vigilate;  Mozart: Divertimento K270; Mancini: Moon River; Clark: Variations on Scarborough Fair; Purcell: Music to Dioclesian; Seiber: Dance Suite; Hall: Scottish Border Suite.


You can perhaps see that the instruments range from the sopranino, through descant, treble, tenor, basses, great basses to contrabasses. Some of the music worked better than other pieces. I was reminded that good diaphragmatic control is required even for recorder playing, but perhaps I'm being a bit picky. They put on a good show to a packed village hall. Tea and cakes were laid on and were well received.



When I arrived home it was to find the other Marjorie and Jenny L visiting Mum and having a grand time. It was lovely to see them. Craig had also come to keep Mum company while I was out, but retreated in the presence of the women!



Tonight I took Mum to hear Joanna Trollope in the opening session of the Hexham Book Festival. She spoke very well and I may be tempted to read her new book in due course. At one point she made an impassioned plea on behalf of the middle classes, who she feels are spoken of with opprobium. She is also particularly passionate about literacy levels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.