An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Reduce, Re-use, Recycle...

The utility room took another step towards completion today when the sink was put into place.

This is the double belfast sink from our old kitchen and I am so glad we decided to re-use it as I found out today that to to buy the same sink now would cost over £1000!   It is to our eternal advantage that the previous owners used the best quality products they could find when they took this old house under their wing and lovingly restored her.

I also found out that the sink is heavy.  Very heavy.  70kg infact but I didn't need the manufacturer's website to tell me that, the muted curses of the builders are they carried it in and carefully placed it on the reinforced cabinet told me all I needed to know!  :-))

Sent the day gradually ploughing my way through my to-do list and to my delight, I have managed to tick off quite a few tasks.  

I spent a fortune buying cards - birthday, new baby, sorry your leaving, retirement, thank you - to name a few.  Also, FINALLY ordered chairs for our new dining room table.  After much debate and months of looking at chairs, we have decided on the ones that actually match the table we bought!  

David was worried they wouldn't be comfortable but the blurb says "A well proportioned, subtle design with a recessed back detail makes this dining chair extremely comfortable to sit in for extended periods of time" so I am hopeful they'll be fine.  

Got a text from Ed this evening to tell me he's bought a house!  Him and Elaine are moving 20 minutes up the road from here.  I know being nearer family will make life easier for them but we will miss them being just round the corner.  He's popping round to collect some boxes for packing tomorrow and will grab a coffee and give me the gossip when he arrives.

Jeez, it's all go! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.