Mothering Sunday

It's not all about filling the coffers of card producers and flower growers on Mothering Sunday, there are other ways of acknowledging mothers and making them feel loved. Text messages, emails, phone calls from far off places and Skype are all just as important

I am a lucky Mama today to be surrounded by the beautiful perfume of lilies, roses and freesias, with virtual and real messages wishing me a lovely day. It is just a pity that none of the offspring are here in person, being scattered the length and breadth of Britain and beyond, but they are with me in spirit.

His Lordship is absent too, having chosen to accompany his daughter to lay flowers on the grave in Kinross-shire of her mother, my predecessor in the wifely stakes.
I can't help feeling it's an odd arrangement on this particular day, leaving me feeling rather like an outsider at a family reunion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.