DERELICT SUNDAY

When I was out on the 1st March taking photographs of a tree being felled, I mentioned the small lake with the dead oak tree so today I decided that I would go and take a photograph of it for the Derelict Sunday challenge.  It's quite near to where we live, on the opposite side of the road, and you can just see our house in the middle left of the photograph.

We were talking to a friend after church and he said that as he had injured his shoulder, he wasn’t able to climb a ladder to do a job that needed doing on their washing line, so Mr. HCB volunteered to go and do it for him.  I’m not really surprised because he loves going up and down ladders, and as I have forbidden him to use the ladder to prune our cherry tree, I think he saw this as a way to do what he enjoys doing.  Apart from that though, our friend is always doing things for other people, so it was a chance for Mr. HCB to go and do something for him.  He did tell Mr. HCB that it was difficult being on the “receiving” end - and I guess many of us can relate to that - we like to be the ones doing things for others, but often find it hard to receive from people.

Anyway, back to the oak tree - I noticed that as the water was stagnant, it was quite smelly, but all round the tree are beautiful pussy willows so I took several photographs of these too and have put one in as an extra. Although I took my phone, I left it in my pocket and only used the camera - something I am trying to do more often. 

It is a beautiful day today and I’m going to meet my friend, Linda, who lives in Cheltenham, very soon at a nearby hotel, as we haven’t seen each other for over a month and might not get together before Easter.  It’s such hard work being retired and I’m hoping that perhaps Mr. HCB might cook our meal for this evening - well I can hope, can’t I?

I don’t think that this tree will be producing any more acorns, but it still has a beauty of its own and its outline did look good against the blue sky.

“Trees are poems 
      that the earth writes 
          upon the sky.” 
Kahlil Gibran : Sand and Foam

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.