An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Quelle Suprise...

Backblip

Eagerly awaited a phone call from one of the GPs at our local surgery this morning with the result of my recent blood test.

She called just before 10am to advise that the blood test she took ("to rule it out" and shut me up basically) does indeed confirm (as I suspected) that I have an under-active thyroid! 

On the one hand I am relieved that it has finally been confirmed (I reckon this has been the case for 10 years definitely but more likely 20 years) but annoyed with with myself for putting up with my symptoms for so long and that I wasn't more forceful in the past, instead allowing myself to be fobbed off.

Nothing I can do about that now, so I will look to the future instead.

Spent the day doing lots of research about how I can help myself over and above taking the medication.  Found as amazing documentary series on You Tube called My Secret Thyroid.  There are at least 9 episodes and I watched the first two.  Absolutely fascinating and a must watch.  It's certainly given me questions to ask at my next medical appointment.

I also downloaded the symptom checker list from the Thyroid UK website and was gobsmacked to see how many of my symptoms and conditions could be down to this (including my carpal tunnel syndrome)

I recently bought this little ceramic plaque.  I am going to take it to heart and become what a lady on one of the thyroid videos suggested we all need to be....the CEO of my own healthcare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.