Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Mammallaria Pops

The genus Mammillaria is one of the largest of the cactus family. They are typically globular and are commonly found in small pots, especially in non-native areas.

Some have small flowers. A few species have showy flowers which stand on long floral tubes above the plant, like this species.  Looks like a twin pair will bloom soon.

The flower was on the opposite side of the grizzly cactus, which is quite an appropriate name for it. As I tried to shoot over it I got a bit too close causing my shin to take twelve hairlike spines.  My mistake: using my fingers to remove them.  Some broke off at the base - so ouchie when digging them out!  May I suggest a peek in expanded view?

I got a new lens with which I took this photo.  It's a Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS.  So far, so good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.