Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Naughty Andora

This is Andora who attempted to run me over.   I managed to give her the slip.  There was the usual liquorice assortment of bogans, spotters, loonies, and llamas interspersed with some lovely gentle folk.  Don't ask me what the llama was doing there.   I discovered that a lot of spotters are ex engine drivers.  The one I caught the train in to Maitland was delving into the history of the train crews and was most interesting to listen to.  Alex, see extra, was a guard on the 30 class.  The smaller further away engine in black on the extra with the two trains.  He said I was going to break my camera taking his photo.  He was a lovely chap. 

The 3642 was what I caught into Port Waratah and did a loop of the port.  That's the bigger green engine in the shot of the two of them in the "race".  On the home stretch from Port Waratah it picked up speed and I think we would have been going around 80 kph.  Woo hoo.  It was a thrill. 

I am absolutely shattered so will say nighty night and catch you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.