Put out to pasture...

Dear Diary,

This really made me smile.  Two forlorn snow blowers in a large puddle.  Sorry old guys, your time has passed, she says with everything possible crossed.  Yesterday’s temperatures hovering around 80F went a long way in loosening winter’s grip on the landscape.  It was just wonderful.  Rain is coming today but that’s fine with me..rain melts snow too.

I have noticed some new birds around the feeder.  My purple finches are back and such a joy to see them.  The back porch and patio is a mess of sunflower seed shells and Matt will have a lot of clean-up to do but the only thing that matters to me now is the snow is melting and I can smell spring in the air.  Ten Mile Brook, which runs down the side of my property, is over flowing its banks and soon the chorus of bull frogs will begin. Seeing my daffodils bloom this year will be even more special.  Step by step we are moving into spring and I for one could not be happier.

Earth teach me to forget myself as melted snow forgets its life. Earth teach me resignation as the leaves which die in the fall. Earth teach me courage as the tree which stands all alone. Earth teach me regeneration as the seed which rises in the spring.  - William Alexander

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.