Ring for the custodian of Threave Castle

Today's cycling excursion was a shorter one to Threave Castle with a stop at Castle Douglas on the way back to Chipperkyle

The castle is on an island in the middle of a river. To access it you call for the boatman to come to collect you and take you over - hence the need for the bell as blipped.

While we watched the boatman cross the water Mr hazelh and I talked to a couple with a dog. A couple of minutes into the conversation the husband revealed that he recognised me. I almost felt famous when I felt obliged to agree that I was indeed hazelh! I had no idea of the man's identity until he lowered his hood and I saw the University photographer before me. (I should have known: he was carrying an immense camera.)

There are peregrine falcons living in the castle ruins, and an osprey nest not far away in the trees, so we enjoyed a good dose of bird life at Threave.

For our lunch today we called in at the Earth's Crust bakery in Castle Douglas for a soup and a sandwich. This café is a finalist in the Radio 4 food and farming awards 2017. We do hope that it's the winner. Then we had a look around the shops and spent a long time in Hazel's antique/junk store. There were no glug jugs for sale, but I did buy some Beryl Ware for my friend Melissa.

This evening we played Scrabble again (I have finished my book) and Mr hazelh won.

Exercise today: 15 miles of tandem riding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.