More Gardening

Last night Mr K and the Little Misses got started on their grow bags. Veg is always Mr K's domain!! I was very impressed with their efforts with the bamboo canes. 
Papa helped them get the last few lettuces in and it was all looking great this morning.
For the first time in weeks last night I set my alarm for 6.30am so I could get up in time  to go to the car boot sale. I woke with a start at 7.30am and realised it was the alarm I use for school days and it was never going to work on a Saturday!! 
But I got there, met my mum and had a lovely couple of hours browsing and picking up bargains. Frames, a brand new boxset of Horrible Histories books for Miss E (we've just started watching it on TV), a fabulous old round bevelled mirror for my downstairs loo, a dicentra, clematis, hellebore and black elder for the garden, a gorgeous huge Manhattan poster, a zinc bucket and a lovely garden string holder.
The best - and most necessary - purchase of the morning was a new coat for me. It was freezing, I'd forgotten to wear one and as my lips were turning blue I saw the perfect coat. I tried it on, twirled around a bit, told my mum how much I liked it...... And then asked the woman how much it was!!!
Bless her, she could have said £20 and I'd have paid it.
She said £2!
We spent most of the rest of the day out in the garden.  I painted a couple of chairs and carried on tidying up. Miss E spent most of the afternoon up a tree chatting to our neighbour over the fence (see extras) Luckily our neighbour is very nice and she was (or pretended to be) fine chatting away to Miss E.
In the evening we split up into two viewing parties for the first time ever. Miss E really wanted to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them but Miss L didn't fancy it and wanted the Deathly Hallows, Part 2. 
So Miss L and Mr K went up to our bed while Miss E curled up in her sleeping bag next to me on the sofa and we watched what we wanted. Apart from Mr K who would have much preferred Fantastic Beasts!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.