Steph's window on life...

By SJordan

Ringette, Birthdays and Family Time

Jessica, Mikaela, Keira, Me and Andrea. <3 They've certainly grown in the past year!

Today has been pretty busy, we got up pretty early as we were meant to be heading to Keira's soccer football game. However, it had rained all night and was still raining this morning, so the game was called off. Quick call to (J and R's daughter) Dawn and new plans were made, Andrea had a ringette game 10 minutes away, so we went to it instead. I'd never been to a ringette game before and if I'm honest, didn't really know what it was, but we went to watch and I soon found out. It's a bit like ice hockey, but played with a long straight stick and a ring, as opposed to a hockey stick and puck. Looked like a lot of fun, kinda makes me wish I could ice skate... So we watched the game (sadly they lost), then had some lunch and came back for their next game (which they won).

After the ringette game, I went with Dawn and Andrea to pick up Jessica as she'd been at ringette practice all day. We then headed to (J and R's son) Brian's house, where we met the rest of the family (A, John and Roberta, Dawn, her husband Mike and their girls Mikaela, Jessica and Andrea and Brian, his wife Conney and their daughter Keira). We had some dinner, then they brought out an ice cream cake for A as it was his 18th birthday today. It was such a nice night spent with family members that we only get to see every few years, so moments like this are precious.

I can't believe my not so wee bro's 18... I remember the day he was born, which makes me feel so old... I think he's had a pretty awesome birthday though, definitely one that he'll remember. :D We're off to Canada's Wonderland tomorrow, which will be another awesome day. Can't believe we're nearing the end of our trip. :(

Steph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.