Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The last day of the Festival

The weather was great again today for the last two festival walks. I was on the long walk, Gilsland to Haltwhistle, and here you see the group of people who were there with me.

I think I completed 85 miles over the 8 days I walked. I'm thrilled with this, although I have to admit that certain muscles are rather hot and bothered, even after a long soak in the bath.

This shot was taken at the trig point on the top of Killer Kellah Moor. It was a bit hazy, but the sense of space was wonderful. We ate lunch under the Lambley viaduct (see extra), and then walked along by the river back to Haltwhistle. Geoff told us how the viaduct came to be built - it was when pineapples grew in the area and a fast method of transport was required to distribute them to exotic climes.

It's been a wonderful festival.

I have one blister and have to persuade it to heal before Friday when I'm walking again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.