Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The orderly British queue

Today started with a routine check up with my dentist in Corbridge. All is well and the tooth that needs extracting is hanging in there well at the moment.

I walked along the main street and took this image as one of the buses arrived. There had been a little huddle of people around the bus stop, but you can see how they organised themselves into a queue for the bus. 

I think that I need to occasionally put an image like this on Blip, just to show normal life in 2017. The bus says it goes to Hexham - Corbridge - Prudhoe (pronounced Prud ugh, not Prood hoe as the lady on the train says) - Crawcrook - Ryton - Blaydon - Metrocentre - Newcastle.

My route was by car to Hexham, where I managed to find new white cord for Mum's alarm button. I did a big supermarket shop for ready meals to cover my absence. The freezer is busy making these all frozen.

This afternoon I arranged the payment of the balance for the Poland holiday. Good old Barclays were in touch within 2 hours. Was this large transfer correct or was I being fleeced? Well done to the Fraud Department.

While I was talking to Barclays, I absent mindedly closed my luggage lock and rotated the wheel. It's a TSA one for the USA and I haven't used it for years. The code was not immediately apparent. I've been trying to pick the lock since then, but did succeed by guessing the code. Phew!

I also had a call from "Microsoft" to help me sort out a hack on my computer. I've had loads of these, but this is the first time I've been sworn at by the caller.

New collapsible walking poles arrived today. I hope I can carry one easily when I have the camera equipment and tripod.

Three more sleeps then I'm off to the USA. Rather excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.