An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

I just know that something good is going to happen

Cloudbusting :-)

(If you don't want to read the rather long write up, and I wouldn't blame you if you don't, can I ask you to read the bit in italics at the end and tell me what you think?  Thank you :D ) 

Woke up at 5.30am and was ready to face the world.  Lay and listened to the birds whistling till 6am.  Can't think of a better start to the day.

I have discovered recently that I find it much easier to get up before 7.00am than after.  Maybe it has something to do with the fact I got up at 6.30am every morning throughout my teenage school years and my entire work life.  I think my circadian rhythm is stuck on a 6.30am wake up.  I'm not complaining.  I get the best of the day.

Alan had to get up early this morning too as he had to be at PRI by 8.15am for a full dental checkup, which has to be done under general anaesthetic.  He was keen to go (certainly doesn't take after his father on that score!) and left full of smiles.   David texted me to say he was charming the nurses (surprise surprise) while he waited his turn. 

In no time at all David was texting me the good news that Alan was back in the ward and his teeth are all absolutely fine, no work required and the x-rays are all good.  

Twenty years old and he's not had a single bit of work done on his teeth.  I hope you'll forgive me if I allow myself a little bit of parental pride as it's not been easy keeping those teeth shiny bright.  A childhood spent eating vast amounts of Ambrosia custard and chocolate buttons coupled with his mouth not being the easiest to access, has caused me a bit of worry over the years, but thankfully he likes having his teeth brushed so has always cooperated as best he can.

There was a bit of an anxious moment in the hospital when Alan awoke from the anaesthetic and he got quite agitated.  Turns out he thought he had to stay in hospital for a week!  His mood changed completely when D told him they could come home straight away.  Looks like his recent hospital stays have left their mark.

They were back home just after midday and he was happy to head off with Ashleigh for lunch.  

Just Thomaz here today finishing tiling the new ramped entrance at the front door.  Scott, the Sites Manager popped in for a minute and I took my chance to take his photo for the Building Project photo book.  The camera loves him just as much as it did the rest of them.  They all have faces full of character.  

Just for a change (insert embarrassed face) David and I went out for lunch (Delivinos this time) then for a drive exploring some of the little back roads as I wanted to practice more landscape shots with my 50mm lens.  Found lots of lovely lanes with gorgeous little cottages along the way and some  beautiful large country houses.  

The clouds were absolutely stunning and I found myself singing Cloudbusting rather loudly, unaccompanied by Kate Bush.  I'm not sure David enjoyed that as much as I did.

Got back home just as Thomaz was brushing the front entrance.  Grouting done and it's looking great.  I mentioned in a blip a few weeks ago how Thomaz prides himself on knowing everything (and I mean everything!) well today David asked him about a slight snagging issue with one of the internal doors and Thomas's reply made me laugh out loud.   Deadly serious, and without a hint of a smile, he looked David straight in the eye and said in his authoritative Polish accent, "If you have a problem, I am the solution."   :-)))))   Oh to have such self belief.  He did fix it though, so perhaps his confidence isn't misplaced.

And so Friday is almost upon us again.  Ele and I were supposed to be going out together tomorrow but she's now having to stay in to wait for my niece Jennifer's new mattress to be delivered.  Then David reminded me that we're expecting a delivery tomorrow too that I will need to wait in for.  

So,  Ele and I are both stuck in our respective homes, whilst David and Kenny are playing golf   Tut!  Something not quite right with that picture.

Blip Pals please, if you have time, could you take a look at my extra photo.  I would welcome your thoughts on this little suggestion I put to David earlier this evening regarding said photo and he looked at me as though I'd gone a bit strange in the head.  

Re. the photo, it was the clouds that caught my attention as I took the shot and it was only when I uploaded and cropped it, that the house jumped out at me.  Now my plan with some of my recent landscape photos is to have them printed so that I can actually see what they look like in the flesh, in the hope it will help me improve.  When I saw the this shot, I wondered if the people that live in the little house might like a copy of it.  

So the question I put to you (as I did to D) is, do you think I am being silly to get a print of this (I'm thinking 8 x 10 maybe) to post to the owners of the house.  I don't know them and I would just put in a short note explaining that photography is my hobby and I thought they might like it.  I'm not planning on giving them my contact details, I will just sign the note Diane.

I see it as a bit of fun (at a push a random act of kindness) but I think David thinks I'm losing the plot.  Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.