Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

(Self)Portrait (EP7)

I admit that this weeks Experimental Photography Challenge (Passage of Time) was a bit, well, challenging. This week's theme will be easy: Shoot a portrait of yourself, one of your loved ones, or anybody else using one of the following techniques: 
Over- or underexposure (EP1) (with movement or without)
Double exposure/image overlay (EP2)
Homemade filters (EP3)
Pinhole (EP4)
Light (EP5)

I took this partial selfportrait this morning at 4AM in a brightly lit living room, selfexposing myself to the camera for 5 seconds at maximum ISO. My intention was to reduce myself to my essentials (?) without scaring people away with a view of my entire very untidy self before showering (I tried to take a picture of my whole bearded face. It wasn't pretty).
I've added an extra with a negative of a portrait of our daughter Isabella. I will introduce the technique of inverting colors sometime later.  It has it's own artistic advantages and challenges, and you can use it to create some amazing effects.

This week's challenge: Experimental Portrait
Tag: EP7
Go for: Creativity and artistic impression.
Heartdonor: My wife Carla 

You can publish your contribution on any day until Saturday, May 27th. Don't forget to tag it with EP7. 
The next challenge will be published on April 27th (suggestions for themes are always welcome). Hearts for the EP7-challenge will be awarded on Monday, May 29th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.