Mixing the soil

I've been feeling very sad today, thinking of the family of Ray, our former student who was murdered, of everyone who lives in the small community on the southside of Francois Lake and those of us who don't live there anymore and know both families involved.  The news is really hitting people hard.  A first-degree murder charge has been laid.  
Working in the garden for a few hours helped.  G turned the soil in the beds and tomato plant pots that I hadn't already done, added compost, then emptied the soil from flower pots into the wheelbarrow and added compost to it.  I planted some lettuce and basil starters, multiplier onions, cooking onions, 2 cucumber starters and 3 zucchini starters.  Tomorrow I hope to plant the tomatoes and seeds of arugula, mesclun, lettuce, beets, carrots and beans.  I'm so looking forward to fresh veggies from the garden.   I wasn't in the mood for taking photos so just took a couple of quick shots in the garden.  The extra is a mono of the lettuce and basil seedlings before I transplanted them.  
A beautiful spring day for working outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.