Life is too short for bad wine!

What a lovely summer day!
I started work ridiculously early, at 6:30 am to be clear headed at my conference call at 7 am! That was hard. But then I had a long morning catching up with China and getting things done. That was quite nice. Maybe I should consider having the odd early morning over the summer. I know that I could not do it in winter. 
The difficulty is of course stopping earlier as well .....
I went out to get some lottery tickets in the late afternoon and caught up with a few people at Queen Margaret Drive and walked home with a little detour along the river. It was hot! 28 degrees!

For the evening we had planned to grill our T-Bone in the garden. Neil was home before 7pm and we prepared our baskets to carry down in the garden. Our neighbours  had already started the grill and we basically took on the second shift. While waiting for our coals to get the right heat we had a lovely chat with Anke and Richard from the ground floor. We do not meet our neighbours very often and it was lovely to have relaxed time for a blether in the sun instead of a quick hello on the stairway when everyone is heading somewhere. 
I had taken down a really good bottle of wine, that I was saving for a special occasion. Today I thought it was the day - otherwise the special occasion will never come.  The T-Bone was amazing! utterly tender and full of flavours! What a feast.
After we have eaten we joined Jim and Heather who own the the house in the lane behind our garden with our wine and some posh chocolate. 
Karen was there as well. We sat outside until after midnight, enjoying good company.
What a lovely evening with nice people.
I hope the summer will bring more occasions this year.

Blip is my posh wine. I just love Brunello di Montalcino ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.