Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Tuna Lunch

The red thing this Curve-billed thrasher has a grip on is called a tuna.  After a cactus bud forms, a flower blooms from its center.  The flower wilts and falls out of the structure holding it. That structure dries up and turns red.  Eventually, it falls to the ground.

Birds and other wildlife are attracted to this cactus fruit for the seeds inside.  Humans consume this cactus fruit in the form of juices, candy and jelly.  In fact, my favorite lunch spot offers prickly pear iced tea and prickly pear vinaigrette salad dressing.

If anyone would like a small jar of Prickly Pear Jelly, send me an email (profile page) and I will happily send you one. 
_______________
Around 2:30 this morning I had to call for an ambulance because I was experiencing extreme pain from my back, around the rib area to my chest.  They diagnosed a UTI but I didn't buy their explanation for the pain (based on its location).  I followed up at the acute care clinic.  The NP speculated it was the early sign of Shingles.  I'm still not convinced.  Gonna talk to my own doctor to request rib x-rays or a CT.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.