A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A super 'silly' Saturday

Our village children's gala day and what a fab day it has been!

I was asked to fill in for the usual photographer for today's event so headed up to the top of the village to see all the entries for the children's walking tableaux and the judging before the parade started. Children representing the primary school had the theme 'Under the Sea'. There were some wonderful creatures but I particularly liked the umbrella octopuses. On the field later as the heat grew I spotted this lady and her little one using one as a sun shade. Wonderfully silly but not so silly at the same time!

I had to then rush ahead of the parade to keep taking pictures. My friends from the players, some of whom I walk with, were saying I should be the bus, it would have been easier than running alongside it! Extra
It was then onto the gala field ( Ferrands Park) to take pictures of the presentations, stalls and activities. One of the best things about the day is seeing nearly everyone you know.

There were so many great things to see and photograph I was there two hours and took nearly 200 shots for the archive. I can't show them all but I did like the reflection in my neighbour, wildlife hero Debbie's glasses. (She was the one who helped deliver the lambs and last week helped Wilsden Walker rescue a cygnet) In the reflection, extra, you can see the buzz of the gala field in the background and in the right eye you can see fellow blipper YORKSHIREBRED and in the left me taking the photograph. Her husband was doing the commentary and to read the announcements he had to wear two pairs of glasses, extra!
All very silly but a wonderful event. I hope it is one I will be able to bring my grandchild to in the not too distant future.

You can see a bit more of the parade on Wendles56 https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2322745159478936665

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.