An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Doon at Troon...

Well we had quite the tour of the Ayrshire coast today.

Started off in Ayr picking up the new car.  Very exciting :-)  The hand over was much faster than we expected (of course everything is all done electronically these days) and before we knew it, the sales woman was going over the bells and whistles and then we were in it and off.  Woo hoo!  

Drove to the sea front at Ayr, took some photos and spent a few minutes getting our phones set up and music in the car (first artist played in the car was of course Kate Bush :-)   

Once that was sorted we headed to Prestwick and had lunch in Elliots (highly recommend it.)  The sun was shining when we left there so we headed to Troon and spent a lovely hour watching the sunlight bouncing off the sea and eating ice cream (a scoop each of Scottish tablet and cherry for me.)

As well as absolutely loving the car, we had a laugh recalling childhood memories of Ayrshire, long before we knew each other. 

I recalled a memorable school trip to Ayr when I was thirteen (9th May 1980 to be exact :-)  Two coach-loads of excitable school kids dropped off at the sea front, left to our own devices and told to meet back at the drop off point in two hours.   

Oh the fun that was had in those two, unsupervised hours!   How one of us didn't drown is more by luck than design!  Oh and one of the boys went swimming in his Y-fronts only to leave the sea without them and couldn't understand why the rest of the boys were laughing so hard and the girls were screaming and laughing and running in the opposite direction!   And so much fairground candy eaten - candy floss, sugar dummies, cola cubes.  We were hyper!

Late back to the rendezvous point of course then off for the boring, educational bit - a visit to Burns' Cottage (I was really looking forward to that but off course was far too cool to admit it!  :-)

Then the coach journey home, singing (There was jelly, jelly like Mrs R's belly in the store, in the store / the front of the bus they cannae sing, they cannae sing fur peanuts :-) laughing, eating the last of the cola cubes and accidentally on purpose finding myself sitting beside the boy I fancied with some surreptitious hand holding on the last part of the journey, was the perfect end to the perfect day :-))

I do have a photo memory of the day of my friend Anne and me taken in a photo booth (if it was today there would be have been millions of photos taken and uploaded to  FB & Instagram and I fear the poor boy who lost his undergarments would have gone viral and never lived it down!  I am SO glad there was no social media when I was growing up!) but the file size is too small to blip so see it in extras :-)

Lovely drive home in time to get Alan's dinner sorted, have ours then doze off in my chair.  I think the excitement of the day and the sea air and the laughter exhausted me!  

Oh and new addition to the family also in extras :D

PS Pat on the back for anyone who can find the Ailsa Craig in my blip :p 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.