Rusting Away

I slept too late this morning and I am sure I could have slept even longer.  A busy week caught up with me.  TT was way early and BB was up and about when I got up.  I got his breakfast, but knew I hadn’t the energy to encourage him to do a cello practice.  Turns out he had got everything out – and couldn’t have taken the next step to practice, but decided not to!  As I was rushing around getting ready, BB asked me what he should do next.  Getting dressed for school!  Honestly, every morning is like the first time he has ever gone to school.

I carried his cello down the road, came home, had some breakfast, listened to Desert Island Discs and then forced myself out for a walk.  It rained a bit, so I got wet.

BB had plans to go to play football (£1 a play) at the local 3G pitch after school with some friends, so I had been requested to go down to school to collect his cello, and to bring some football kit – I duly followed my instructions, only to find out he wasn’t too keen on football (it was still a bit damp), so could he pop to a friend’s house, and then they would come back to ours for lunch.  All good, except I had nothing in for lunch.  Next stop for me was the co-op.  They arrived, I fed them and they then proceeded to entertain themselves all afternoon, once I had found the “bullets” for the nerf guns!  I baked and cooked tea.  A lovely way to spend the afternoon, when you haven’t got much energy or enthusiasm for anything else.

Much later TT and I watched Radiohead at Glastonbury, while wondering how long it is since we saw them live in Oxford.

I spotted this rusting tanker, almost hidden, at the edge of a field when I was out for my walk this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.