Poppies up the lane..

I did wake with my alarm at 8, but dozed until 9. It must have been my very late night. 

I'm not sure that I actually achieved anything today. I've done bits and pieces, but nothing of any consequence. I took this photo at the end of our road outside someone's house, when I took the dog for a walk. 

At 2pm I loaded up my car with our big water carrier full of water (obviously), a spade, my runner beans and several raspberry canes that have been growing in my garden randomly. The weather has been so much nicer for gardening, but the ground was still ridiculously hard. I managed to plant my beans inside our little dug area. My plan to simply dig 5 small holes along the outside edge to drop the raspberry canes into went out of the window after hole 2 and 45 mins of digging, swearing, sweating and scraping at the concrete like ground. I will have another go tomorrow night! What I need is a deluge to soften this earth.

Collected Mollie from work at 4.30 and the boys arrived home about 5.20 from their caving weekend in Yorkshire. Henry enjoyed it, even going through one of those cave tunnels where you have to swim under water and pop up the other side. You would NEVER get me doing that. So pretty impressed. Jon didn't go in the cave. He is like me and the thought of getting stuck in a small space called the 'cheese press' or the under water thing is not an attractive.

Dinner, a bit of sewing, which has been stop start all weekend, some reading of pensions stuff (in case I get an interview) and ironing. That is the rest of my day.

Off out for a short walk with Jon and the dog now, then bath and bed. Really glad to have people around me again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.