A natural swimming pool at Chalford 'Open Gardens'

I took Helena to a special family day at Stonehouse Court Hotel, where she was running a stall, and then went to Chalford.  Our friend Camilla had told me about the 'Open Gardens' day being held over the weekend, on the steep south-facing slopes of the River Frome's Golden Valley, in and above Chalford village.

I only managed about five houses but I really enjoyed being able to see the very varied ambitions of gardeners. There ranged between small cottages, extensive wild garden, spaces with fabulous views and then the more elaborate mansions and their very formal gardens. 

This shot is of the lilies growing in the newly built natural swimming pool, using water from one of their springs, which pop out of the ground all over these hillsides. You can see the whole pool and its setting, as well some of the other gardens in my Flickr gallery here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.