PADDINGTON

This morning I heard of the death of Michael Bond - creator of Paddington Bear-  so decided to blip my own Paddington.

I have had him since 4th November 1982 ( I know that as my husband wrote the date on luggage tag). On that day Douglas and I were looking around a furniture shop in Blaydon and we noticed Paddington Bears  displayed on the beds and sofas.  Douglas asked if they were for sale - they were.  So he bought me this one. 

Its a genuine bear hand made by Gabrielle Designs. The label inside shows the date as 1972. The company was started by Shirley Clarkson ( mother of Jeremy ) who had a cottage industry selling tea cosies etc  and also made soft toys for her children. After reading the Paddington bear books to her children she made them a bear. She was then was granted a licence to sell the bears.  Michael Bond was very taken by the bear, and so Gabrielle Designs Paddington products were born.  Michael formed a lasting friendship with the Clarksons, and actually wrote about Paddington’s acquisition of his wellington boots in his next book to suit the design strategy. Well, Paddington needed wellington boots to stand up on the shelves and in displays didn't he?  I have included a jar of marmalade in my shot - Paddington was a great fan of marmalade - here is his song Marmalade N Me

It has rained all day - and its been quite cold too.  I even wore gloves when I went down to the village.  I did some ironing when I got home which warmed me up a bit.  Heating is on this evening.

Steps today - 6,828







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.