SUMMER IN THE CITY

The Abstract Thursday theme today is URBAN. (meaning ...... in, relating to, or characteristic of a town or city.)  Luckily I was heading to the city of Newcastle this afternoon so blip opportunities were all around.

My blip shot shows the view up Grey Street towards Greys Monument.  As you can see the long ribbons have now been added to the monument to create a maypole.  Its part of the Great Exhibition of The North. I processed my photo in Picasa.  Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting.

The reason I was in Newcastle was to go to the Theatre Royal.  I saw a production of Hairspray.  I haven't seen the film and didn't know the storyline so it was all brand new to me.  It was a very energetic and colourful show packed with dancing and singing.  Very enjoyable.

Usually I spend a couple of hours or more in town after the theatre but today I had to get home in time for the England match.  So I just popped into Waitrose for a few things and got home quickly to cook my tea and settle down in front of the TV by 7pm.

The match was a bit of a non event.  England were playing Belgium and they lost one nil.  But they still go through to the next round as they were second in their group. They face Colombia in the next game.  Hope they play better against them.

Steps today - 7,269

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.