Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Big Tynedale Bake

Tynedale Hospice at Home is raising money by asking supporters to host tea parties. Today Pat and Val Johnston had theirs in Fourstones. Pat and his first wife, Pam, were regular walkers with our group. Sadly Pam died of cancer, then Pat had an arthritic hip that stopped him walking.

Two years on and he is happily married to Val, who lost her first husband to cancer. Pat is also back to the intermediate walks.

Quite a few walkers were there, enjoying the beautiful garden. Some enjoyed the quiet of the conservatory and this is where you see Brian. He and Mum had a good natter and ate their tea, cakes and scones. Brian hasn't been well recently so it was great to see him today. My friend, Lesley, has also been out of action whilst visiting the health service this year, and she was there and looking great.

It was one of those very English affairs. There was a quiz and a raffle and cakes and jam to buy. We drank tea out of cups.

This morning I edited the four images that Tim is using for greetings cards and sent them off to the printers. These are for A6 sized cards. Now I have to prepare more images but for A2 prints. Gulp! I'm learning a lot as I go.

Those of you who saw yesterday's blip early, would not see the additional "small world" comment. A friend saw my blip on Facebook, recognised the holidaymaker I'd blipped as a former pupil and I've put them in touch. The power of social media for good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.