The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cricket on the village green

Most of today's time was taken up with running a card stall at a church fete. I should have known when the organisers placed me on stand no. 13, next to a dying conker tree, in a corner of the churchyard popular with thunder flies, that I was on a hiding to nowhere.

One of the low lights of the day was a non-customer driving past me in her scooter, announcing that she had some food stuck in her gastric band, and that she just needed to sort herself out in the bushes. Too much information! Retching noises followed. I don't think I'm ready for this level of disclosure in a churchyard.  

To cheer myself up, and spend even more money on frivolities, I suggested that we stop at a  pub on the way home, to reorganise my frazzled brain. On the way through the village of Kings Stanley, we noticed that a cricket match was in progress on the village green. We pulled up at the pub, but found that it had closed down. Fortunately there was a Sports Club with a bar on the green, and we were granted temporary membership, which was all we needed to buy drinks and sit outside on the grass, watching Kings Stanley vs Tewkesbury. 

I am not sure who is bowling in this shot (Willey, maybe?) but I'm glad I managed to capture the movement. Actually catching a game in progress on a green is rare these days, unless one lives in Frampton-on-Severn. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.