The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Unbearable Lightness of being in Waitrose

We went to the Daneway banks nature reserve today, which was just what I needed. I finished my book (Harmony, by Carolyn Parkhurst), and Steve watched butterflies. He's blipped the site and some of the sights.

On the way back, we popped into Waitrose. There was some posh-brand tonic water on offer by the door, so I went to look for gin. Big mistake! I knew that artisanal gin is on the rise, but this rack reminded me more of a perfumery than an off licence. Big choice, pretty bottles, but I left without any. Nothing as cheap as I'd hoped for.
I bought some streaky bacon and chives instead, and came home to carry on looking for cheap flights to Santander for my sister and her daughter. There aren't any. TML has been looking too, from Bahrain. We want to all holiday together in the same town near Santander, but are suffering from the Curse of the English summer holidays. Sadly, I can only go on holiday at the most expensive time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.