The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Dandelion and lavender

I had to sleep in the spare room last night because the teenage revellers were back in the Heavens, just behind our house. I phoned the police, but the "response" police don't know what the Neighbourhood police are up to or that it's a known trouble spot, so they just gave me an incident number. It was 13, and it wasn't even 1am. That's a lot of calls they're getting in a small town.

I slept, anyway, and when I got up I went back to 'real bed' for a bit,and started reading The Dandelion Years, which is partly about someone's wartime experiences at Bletchley Park. I wished I could read it all morning.

However, I got on with other things, and found I had time to make GF lavender shortbread, using some lavender I had picked yesterday. It tastes kind of peculiar. Shouldn't have used salted butter. However, for a photo-opp...

I had to teach during the Brazil-Mexico game. Was supporting Mexico out of solidarity for my Mexican half brothers and sisters, but it came to nada. My students needed me for massage, anyway. They were not in a good way.

Afterwards, S and I drove across Stroud to collect some potting tables. It turned out the person giving them away was someone I knew from a previous course! The tables are a bit small, and are actually trolleys, but we'll find a use for them.

Now I'm lying in my hammock, the sun slipping away, watching baby blue tits feed on sunflower seeds. In a minute yet another football match will start, which is annoying because Steve's call from Apple in CA has not come through yet.

Good news: I've got an interview for a summer job on Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.