Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Proteas

Another busy day - being the weekend and not having the movers meant we could catch up and finally open all the boxes and unpack everything that has been moved so far. I spent all day unpacking the kitchen and sorting where everything should go - it is rather good to have a functioning kitchen again, one where we could eat a proper meal at last. Gavin also very kindly moved my desktop computer and installed it, and to my surprise everything worked including the broadband. Now we are ready for the next big load on Monday...some people have asked why we are being moved over 5 days -  the movers said that was the norm when you don't have a deadline date to be out of the house and we are moving from a very large house to an even larger one, so I suppose we have so much stuff to move. It has given us the opportunity to clear out all the rubbish and things we no longer use, which has actually  been quite cathartic!

Murdoch spent his first day here, and although he was a bit unsettled at first he seems to be fine - I have been reassuring him all day and checking on him throughout the day, in that insane way pet owners have of talking to their pets...don't worry Murdoch, I am just going upstairs to unpack my bathroom things but will be down shortly, won't be long.... 

It rained on and off today so at last the dry grass has had a good soaking. I was very pleased to see the rain but it did mean that Murdoch was running outside and I wasn't always at the door to wipe his paws when he came in again, so my cream kitchen floor is a mess.

Gavin very sweetly bought me these flowers today - South African proteas. In local tradition they represent change and hope - certainly change for us, and hope that life will get back to normal soon!

I was very upset to miss seeing all the TV programs that I have been watching, as I never had time to see them before the Sky account was terminated at our old house - at the new house we have Sky Q installed (no choice, that is what they install these days) and the TV engineer warned me that it is a rubbish product that Sky have introduced - he is right, it keeps losing connection.

I have kept my comments off until I can lift my head and breathe again, it has been madly busy and I have no time for anything else at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.