Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Orange Thunder

Wow, the sky was freaky, the thunder roaring and the sky ablaze.

Most people who shoot lightening, and are really, really good at it, place their camera on a tripod and use a long exposure (30 seconds or longer).  In an attempt to be different (of course, I'm naturally different!), I held my camera and relied solely on continuous shooting.  This was the only frame (among dozens of misses) that caught a bolt.  I snapped my first one during the 2015 monsoon and my second during the season in  2016.   Maybe it's the camera, but I think this one is the best so far. All have been single bolts. Some day I'm gonna get me one of those dang fancy ones!!

In case you're wondering, the saguaro doesn't really look quite that weird.  The rain was hitting my window pretty hard so the wobble was caused by refraction.  Oh, and that's the desert beyond the houses.

Had another doozy of a storm yesterday.  I put a bit of the damage in the extra.  It's at the entrance to my housing development.  You can't tell from this angle but the pole on the right is actually bent backwards.  

Happy weekend!!!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.