Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Twarted...Again

Twelve years.  That's how long I've been seeking the elusive Elegant Trogan in Madera Canyon.  Every day since the spring, someone has told me they had seen one (or heard of one being seen); each time on a different trail or area.  So today was my day to explore one of the trails I've heard mentioned more than others. 

I walked about a mile and heard virtually no activity.  At a certain point I took the west loop but the heat and the fact that I had left my water in the car (stupid, stupid, stupid) was taking a toll.  I wasn't sure how close I was to finishing the loop so I doubled back towards the trail head. Less than a mile from my destination, I came across a guy on a bike resting in some shade. We were only at 4400'/1.4K but it was 100°/38° when I left the valley (I live at 3000'/1K) so it was still pretty dang hot. I told him my water woes.  He was wearing one of those big water packs with a hose and let me drink as much as I wanted. 

I took one photo during my 2 hour sojourn.  This 8.5" Desert Grassland  Whiptail was hard to miss on the trail in front of me and it had to be what I would settle for this day.  They can be found in s AZ and sw New Mexico.

I drove up to the lodge for some water.  I got talking to a guy from Florida  who told me the Trogan had been spotted at the amphitheater, a mile and a half higher up the mountain than where I was searching. Go figure.

Knowing I already had the lizard in the can, I didn't bother taking my camera out again.  I just sat in the shade at the wildlife area enjoying the slight breeze and much cooler 85° before coming down the mountain for the day.  I left home at 10 am and returned at 3:30 so even without much to show for it photographically, it was a lot of time spent in my personal peaceful environment.  A tiring, sweaty, good  day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.