Farewell Spaghetti Betty

This blip is of a photograph that I took on 7th April 1984 of one of my parents' closest friends. She's known in the family as 'Spaghetti Betty' because my little sister misheard her name when we were first introduced to her. We learnt that Spaghetti Betty died today, hence this blip.

Spaghetti lived just around the corner from our childhood home. We all thought that she was incredible glamorous with her enormous dark glasses, slim figure, and wonderful wardrobe. She would have been about 56 in this photograph - although she always told us that she was 100. 

She was terrific fun, and a complete riot at parties hosted by my parents. At one she tried to eat a plate of plastic grapes!  They were quite realistic, but most people would not have been fooled.

I haven't seen her for several years because she moved to the Dominican Republic in later life to live with her son David and his partner. David's planning a trip back to the UK soon, so perhaps he'll bring her ashes with him to scatter in her homeland.

Today I raced to finish my second presentation (now uploaded to SlideShare) and packing for my trip to Canada. I also popped out to get my hair cut.

My alarm is set for 05:00am tomorrow.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.