The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Woodchester cat

Here's H, the cat I am looking after, if one can say that about a cat.

Earlier today, after I'd fed her a bit later than usual, and Steve had popped around with some bits and bobs, I noticed I hadn't seen her for a while. I searched all her favourite places, then decided to go out for a walk, because it was sunny. I walked around the National Trust estate called Boundary Court, where I used to walk with the doggie last year, and through an estate that is more alive and kicking, with sheep, and an ornamental lake. I arrived at the village church, where wedding preparations were under way, and headed back up to the house. Still no cat.

I searched the roads and some fields behind the house. I went down to the shop to buy chocolate and enquire about the best pub to eat at. I walked back up, had my lunch and read a book. Still no cat. I figured that if she didn't show up by her teatime, there'd be something to worry about. Cats have a million hiding places.

So it turned out that, as I was reading in the den, she came sauntering down the stairs, eye make up freshly done, and went straight.for her favourite afternoon chair, which has a goat skin on it. She did let me take her photo, though.

Afterwards I sat in the garden and it was hot enough for me to change bro a short sleeved top and put on my factor 15 sunscreen. Gotta catch the sun while we can!

I've now finished reading Miller's Valley by Anna Quindlen ( superb, and only 99p on kindle at the moment) and reading Romany and Tom, by Ben Watt. The man is s genius writer, as well as musician and DJ. This is the bio of his parents and their decline into old age. It rings true, but the period concerning their later years doesn't make for happy reading. I am very glad that Steve's parents were able to have live-in care for their final few years: it improved the quality of their lives. My aunt and cousin.worked for the care agency that they eventually employed, and would regularly travel down from the Scottish Highlands to the Cotswolds! Not so different from.my housesitting, I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.