The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Echinops?

Not the best day at work, but I did help one lad find the Disney songs and videos he had been repeatedly asking for.

I took the bus back to Woodchester. The earlier sunshine had disappeared, but I took a diversion to the old churchyard, where the original Orpheus mosaic is buried beneath the turf. I sat among the tombs for a while, and ruminated on the ancient Romans who lived there once, in that very spot. Then I walked back via a little shortcut, where I discovered these seed heads.

As noted in the comments below, this is probably an Echinops, rather than Allium Hollandicum, as I first thought.

From Wikipedia:
Allium hollandicum, common names Persian onion[1][2] or Purple Sensation][3] is a plant species native to Iran and Kyrgyzstan[4] but widely cultivated as an ornamental because of its large umbels of attractive purple flowers.[5][6][7] It is reportedly naturalized in Saint Louis County, Minnesota.[8][9][10]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.