Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An exciting day

We started our Walking Festival committee meeting this morning at 0930, just when the bookings for the walks started too. I was chairing and we were finished by 1045. There was then a scramble as Maureen and I both tried to get online to see how the bookings were going.

The Fungal Foray was nearly sold out by 11am - that's just 90 minutes of booking. It is sold out now.

By lunchtime, every walk and event had some people booked on it. That's a first. Often one or two walks are slower to book.

The first 'phone booking was from a couple in California. They had stayed up to be sure the were able to make their booking. Now that is dedication. They are new to us, but are coming with regulars, George and Catharine, who make the journey here from Chicago twice a year. (Now that's  dedication.)

I wasn't too well today. I will be so glad to have the stitches out. I contacted the dentist because I thought that one part might not be healing properly, but I've been told it sounds OK. I didn't go to the camera club exhibition private view tonight. Too much talking makes my mouth very sore from the stitches. So I stayed here are watched Uni Challenge and then the programme about the border between India and Pakistan. Wonderful footage, but the documentary side is a bit superficial. I loved seeing the different peoples and having a glimpse into their lives.

I've photographed our new programme. The image is by my friend, Brian W and I think it sets the scene for an autumn festival. All the volunteers are excited at this point. Some recces have already been done. We have one casualty with a fractured wrist (sustained running not walking), but otherwise we seem fit for the task ahead.

I fear there will be a number of disappointed walkers who have not made early bookings.

PS Nearly forgot, we had a power cut as I started to cook dinner. We were the only ones. I can only think it was one of the ovens in our cooker. Once I persuaded the power to come back on, I used the other oven and will investigate further tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.