One for the expert Frogologists....

....and one for my record.
It being Thursday Jerra was through again. I saw this one yesterday, so showed him today, kind of expecting it to still be there. (Not visible Saturday)
I was a bit gobsmacked when I learnt that frogs can be mildly chameleon-like, apparently capable to a lesser extent of changing shade to nearer match their surroundings.
This one caused himself to wonder if it was a toad; to me it has a frog's head.
"Yesterday" it leapt, sharpish under cover an instant after I saw it; "today" it seemed much more lethargic, crawling back under cover.
Question for "them as might know" could it be diseased or is this colour within parameters. It lacked most of these symptoms apart from possibly lethargy.
"Ranavirus can be tricky to diagnose without a post mortem, but animals may display one or more of the following symptoms:
Drowsiness (lethargy)
Abnormal wasting (emaciation)
Redness of the skin (erythema)
Skin ulcers or sores
Bleeding (systemic haemorrhaging), especially from mouth/anus
Breakdown of limbs (limb necrosis)
Eye problems

The most common symptom is simply to find a large number of dead frogs in a short space of time. The animals are often thin and lethargic before death."
I've seen one that fat, and one relatively dark.
The extra:-
A trick farcebook has is, from time to time, it puts up a shot or two from your "History".  On 24th Aug 2014 I put up a shot of this area bearing the caption "It must be Autumn". The whole area (right half of this shot) was covered in Cochicums in full flower. I left the left half on to illustrate how far behind they are this year - ONE coming into bud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.