A Calorific Day!

It's hard to believe but today was the last full day visiting Elisabet and Alice. Even though I've been here almost a month we have not run out of things to do! But I very much wanted to visit Gamla Linköping again - the open air museum showing what small town life might have looked like in Sweden at the beginning of the 20th century. Many of the historic buildings from the centre of Linköping have been moved here and there are also gardens, a theatre, a dance arena, restaurants and coffee shops and an ICE-CREAM parlour!! Well, that's the biggest clue to what we did, isn't it?

Last year when we arrived we met here, so that the girls could meet on neutral ground. Then when we had to stay an extra day last year we visited again and had afternoon tea in a sheltered spot during a thunderstorm. This year we again met here when we first arrived and so I very much wanted to visit again today on our last day.

As well as enjoying a GIANT ice cream (and I had an extra scoop because I couldn't decide on flavours!), we went for walkies in the surrounding forest area and browsed through a historic shop, a cavern of treasures.

On the way home we decided to let Alice ride with me in Alfie. She sat in Dolly's bed and wore her seatbelt and she seemed very happy to do so! Even without her mum being with!

Today is definitely a day to look at my Extra photo. In the morning before going to Gamla Linköping, we had a baking session, making two recipes from the dog cookbook that I had brought for Alice - recipes using all dog-friendly healthy ingredients. Elisabet did most of the baking and Alice and I supervised.

More details can be read on Alice's blip here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.