The Last Walkie

It was finally time to start my journey home today. But first I wanted to go on one last '11 o'clock' walkie with Elisabet and Alice. We went to the other bird lake in the nature reserve. We had been here last year but hadn't visited yet this time. We were surprised to find the water level so low - the edges of the lake even looked like it had turned into meadow. The lake is really two lakes with a path through the middle. We stopped to take some pictures on one of the benches - Alice was distracted while we were trying selfies! Then we went through the forest - a truly beautiful walk.

It was early afternoon by the time we got back and we had to say goodbye. What a great month we've had! Although it started off so painfully with the loss of Dolly, and we have missed her so much, these precious friends have grieved with me - they also cherished Dolly dearly. Through both the tears and the happy memories, we have celebrated her life and created new memories. And so I have had a soft adjustment to life without her. This month has been exactly what I needed. I hope that this is a short goodbye and that I can visit again soon!

See Alice's blip here.

I headed south this afternoon. Today's drive was only about 3 hours as I will be spending a couple of days with a Flight Attendant friend from work who lives in the city of Växjö. I took a break about an hour south of Linköping to visit a ruined 'castle' that I've seen each time I've passed along this stretch of highway (See extra photos). This time I took the time to stop and take a look.

It's not actually a castle - it's a ruin of a large house built in the 17th century, Brahehus. It had been sunny the whole day and the sun came out again as I was leaving but it was dark and broody while I was walking around it. The views of the farmland and Lake Vättern below were stunning. The lake is the second largest lake in Sweden and I had visited the northern end a few days ago when we visited Vastdena. After I wandered around and stretched my legs (and found a geocache - of course!) I continued my journey south, arriving just in time for dinner! Good planning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.